What Happens If I Turn Off Messages In ICloud?

What happens when you disable and delete messages in iCloud?

This can help free up some space in your iCloud storage, while keeping the rest of your conversations up to date across your devices.

Once you delete a message, you can’t get it back.

If you turn off Messages in iCloud on an iPhone or iPad, your message history is included in a separate iCloud backup..

How do I turn off iCloud without deleting everything?

Make sure you have enough local space for photos. In Settings > Photos, under iCloud Photo Library, tap on ‘Download and keep originals’. Put your device charging overnight with a robust Wi-Fi connection (iCloud syncs large data on Wi-Fi and when charging). In Settings > Photos, turn off iCloud Photo Library.

Does iCloud save text messages?

Turn on iCloud Backup The second option for backing up your iMessages is to use iCloud backup. iCloud is Apple’s cloud-based storage for syncing things like your contacts, calendars, and settings.

Why does my iCloud name show up when I text?

If you’re absolutely certain you’re starting new messages and they’re still using your iCloud ID, check again that you changed the “send from” setting and not just the “receive at” setting. If that is all correct, try turning off iMessage, then Reset the iPhone, then turn iMessage back on (and re-verify your settings).

Can I turn off iMessage and still text?

If you’ve switched from an Apple device (e.g., iPhone®, iPad®, etc.) to a non-Apple device (e.g., Android™, BlackBerry®, etc.) … Messages sent to you from Apple devices could still be coming to you as iMessages instead of standard text messages. You need to turn off iMessage for your mobile number to avoid this issue.

Should iMessage be on or off?

iMessage isn’t enabled by default on an iPhone, but when you first set up the phone, you have the option to switch it on. Go to Settings and select Messages. … Use with Androids: If you move from iPhone to Android devices, make sure to turn off iMessage.

Should messages be turned on in iCloud?

Any device where Messages in iCloud is still turned on continues to store what you send and receive from that device in iCloud. On your iPhone and iPad: Go to Settings.

What happens if I turn my iMessage off?

Your messages will still be delivered as a normal text message if the person has switched off his imessage option. … If they have another phone such as Android, BlackBerry or Windows phone, they must deregiater their iMessage with Apple to receive texts from previous iMessage contacts.

Will I lose my photos if I turn off iCloud?

If you turn off iCloud Photo stream on the device, Photo stream, and the images in the stream folder, are removed from the device, BUT NOT FROM iCloud. If you have any other devices using iCloud photo stream, they will not be impacted. … The photo’s will still remain in ‘the cloud’.

Do photos stay on iCloud if deleted from iPhone?

According to Apple, deleted photos and videos will be stored in your account for 30 days (technically, they are moved to the Recently Deleted album). … Yes, those files disappear from your iCloud Photo Library after 30 days, no longer showing up in the Recently Deleted album either on synced devices or on icloud.com.

Does iCloud save text message history?

Apple’s Messages in iCloud service can be used to backup all your text messages to the cloud so that you can download them to your new iPhone – and keep them in sync across all your Apple devices, so that every message and reply can be viewed on every device. … Go to Settings > click on your Apple ID then iCloud.

Will I still get texts if I turn off iMessage?

If you turn off iMessage on your phone, you will not receive that text. If you turn off iMessage on his phone, you will. … Otherwise if you turn it off you won’t be able to receive the messages but normal cellular messages can still be received through your phone number normally.